TUM – TUM – TUM – Menü
  • Commitees

    On this page you'll find an overview and explanations about the commitees through which we actively shape university politics.

    You'll find further information about universityy politics in our newsletter Trafo #130 and #131

    Fakultätsrat (faculty council)

    The Fakultätsrat (FR) is the highest board of a faculty. Chairman of the FR is the dean or the prodean. Apart from the student dean, several representatives of the professors, scientific and non-scientific staff the students have 4 seats in the FR. The FR gathers together 5 times a year to a conference. There, decisions of the several commitees are examined and voted on or the drafts sent back to the commitees for further working on them.

    Studienkommission (study commitee)

    The study committee is responsible for the general design of the study courses at the faculty. For example, if changes are to be made to the Examination and Study procedures (the FPSO) proposals will be discussed and drafted here. No decisions are allowed to be made in the study commitee, voting has to take place in the Fakultätsrat.

    Studienzuschusskommission (Study contributions commitee)

    This commitee exists only since the tuition fees were introduced and is hence the youngest board. It is responsible for the distribution of the newly introduced tuition fees at our faculty that replaced the old tuition fees. It also controls the carrying out of the projects financed from the tuition fees and conducts polls among the students. In the long run it should determine the ideal study conditions that should be reached using the tuition fees. Not an easy task! The study dean, an other representative of the professors and the scientific staff, the speaker of studies and 4 representatives of students are represented in this commitee.
    Due to this students unite half of the seats in the study contribution commitee onto themselves and have the most to say compared to the other commitees.

    Berufungskomission (appointment commitees)

    The Berufungskommission are used when an existing professor's place needs to be filled or a place for a new professor has been created. The commitee decides on the text of the announcement and hence the focus of the professor's work and also choses who will be invited to an interview from the applicants. After evaluating the applicants a list of the favourites is created and presented to the president who then decides on the candidate to be appointed, based on different details, like for example financial means. A student representative is always a full member and entitled to vote in this commitee, and pays special attention to the teaching aspect of the candidates.

    Fachschaftenrat (FSR) (Student association council)

    The FSR is an interdisciplinary, university-wide commitee. It consists of representatives of all student associations of the different faculties at the TUM. It represents the student's interests at the university level, just like the Fakultätsrat does at faculty level. The amount of votes the student representatives of a student associations have in the FSR is dependent on the amount of students at the faculty.